Service Alert
Service Alert
Articles from scholarly journals are excellent tools to build your research on a topic.
If you're having trouble finding the full text of an article, Jones Library can make a request for the article to be emailed to you (for free!) through interlibrary loan (ILL). Follow the steps in this guide to submit an ILL request.
This database includes research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
This database includes full-text peer-reviewed journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multi-subject archive of journals. Limit your search to “Language & Literature” and/or “Education” and any other relevant subjects to find journal articles, books, and more. Many are peer-reviewed and all titles start from their first issue until their end or 5 years ago. This is great to get a more historical perspective on a topic.
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Largest repository of graduate dissertations and theses 5 million works; grows by 200,000 each year International - content from universities in nearly 100 countries
Greensboro College is a liberal arts college located in Greensboro, North Carolina. The collection features theses and dissertations written by Greensboro College students.
If you're looking for articles outside the realm of education, this functions the same as ProQuest Education Database except it has items from over 175 subjects!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And if Greensboro College has full-text, it'll link you to the full-text! Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Warning: it does not let you limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, so be wary!
JSTOR offers a high-quality, multi-subject archive of journals. Limit your search to “Language & Literature” and/or “Education” and any other relevant subjects to find journal articles, books, and more. Many are peer-reviewed and all titles start from their first issue until their end or 5 years ago. This is great to get a more historical perspective on a topic.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students worldwide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members.
Access the older issues through JSTOR via this link.
Access newer issues through Wiley via this link.
