Skip to main content

Greensboro College Seminar: About the Library

A guide to using the library and conducting research for Greensboro College Seminar students.

General Information

The James Addison Jones Library has an extensive collection, offering approximately 85,000 print books, DVDs, audiobooks, games, music scores and more for check-out with a Greensboro College ID.  Through the catalog and through the Library website, students can also access over 168,000 e-books, 21,000 print and electronic journals, as well as many other electronic resources. The Library houses 28 computer workstations, including 5 laptops that are available for students to borrow for in-library use. The Library also hosts a number of fun social events throughout the year, such as game nights, knitting lessons, craft projects, and a Halloween costume contest.

Today's Hours

Fall 2016 Library Events

Stay tuned for updated events information!

Learn more about up-coming events.

J.A. Jones Library Collections

Collection Location Circulating Description
Periodicals Lower Floor   The Periodicals collection is made up of loose issues and bound older periodical issues. It's located on the lower level of the Library and periodical titles are arranged in alphabetical order.
Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) Lower Level  

The CMC, located in the lower level of the library, houses more than 5000 resources for teacher education faculty and students. Materials include professional literature, juvenile books, activity books, curriculum guides, videos, kits, and North Carolina state-adopted textbooks.

DVD Collection Main Floor   The DVD collection is located on the main floor and include popular titles, documentaries, as well as foreign films.
Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection Upper Level  

The Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection is located on the top floor of the Library and include titles mostly print materials on the history of World War II and the Holocaust.

Magazines Main Floor   Magazines and newspapers are kept in the Reference Room, beside the fireplace. This collection consist of current, popular magazines and local and national newspapers.
Main Circulating Collection Stacks   The Main Circulating Collection contains over 80,000 circulating items located on the four floors of the stacks. It's accessible from the main floor and the lower level of the library. This collection includes all fields of study.
Microform Cabinets Lower Level  

The Microform collection is located on the lower level of the Library and contains newspapers and journals. The Library does not actively maintain the microform collection.

Music Library Main Floor   The Music Library is located at one end of the Reference Room on the main floor of the Library. This collection provides access to musical scores, compact discs, LPs, and phonograph recordings.
Recreational Reading Main Floor   The Recreational Reading Collection is located on the main floor of the Library in the first nook to the left when entering the Learning Commons area. As its name suggests, the Recreational Reading Collection consist of popular, more approachable reading materials.
Reference Collection Main Floor  

The Reference Collection is located in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library and houses thousands of print resources such as encyclopedias, indexes, statistical sources, critical reviews, law research materials, biographical information, and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Reserves Main Floor  

Reserve items are available at the Circulation Desk, on the main floor of the library. Reserve materials can include sample tests, solutions manuals, books, videos, study guides, periodicals, photocopied articles, computer software, and many other items.

Theses Main Floor   The Library's Theses Collection consist of theses from students of our Graduate program in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL).
VHS Collection Lower Level  

The VHS collection is located on the lower level. This collection contains feature, instructional, and documentary films. Any VHS can be viewed at the library by any person.

Library

J.A. Jones Library's picture
J.A. Jones Library
Contact:
815 W Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27401
336-272-7102 x5421
Website