Skip to main content

About the Jones Library

The James Addison Jones Library has an extensive collection of print books, DVDs, audiobooks, games, music scores and more.

Curriculum Materials Center (CMC)

The CMC, located in the lower level of the library, houses more than 5000 resources for teacher education faculty and students. Materials include professional literature, juvenile books, activity books, curriculum guides, videos, kits, and North Carolina state-adopted textbooks.

DVD Collection and the Recreational Reading Collection

The DVD collection and Recreational Reading collection is located on the main floor, in the learning commons in the first nook to the left. DVDs include popular titles, documentaries, as well as foreign films. The Recreational Reading collection contains popular, more approachable reading materials.

Graphic Novel Collection

The Graphic Novel Collection is located on the main floor of the library, in the learning commons area, opposite the DVDs and Recreational Reading collections.

Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection

The Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection is located on the top floor of the library and includes mostly print titles on the history of World War II and the Holocaust.

Magazines

Magazines and newspapers are kept in the Reference Room, beside the fireplace. This collection consist of current, popular magazines and local and national newspapers.

Main Circulating Collection

The Main Circulating Collection contains circulating items located on the four floors of the stacks. It's accessible from the main floor and the lower level of the library. This collection includes materials on all fields of study at Greensboro College.

Microform Cabinets

The Microform collection is located on the lower level of the library and contains newspapers and journals. The library does not actively maintain the microform collection.

Music Library

The Music Library is located at one end of the Reference Room on the main floor of the Library. This collection provides access to musical scores, compact discs, LPs, and phonograph recordings.

Periodicals

The Periodicals collection is made up of loose issues and bound older periodical issues. It's located on the lower level of the library and periodical titles are arranged in alphabetical order.

Reference Collection

The Reference Collection is located in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library and houses thousands of print resources such as encyclopedias, indexes, statistical sources, critical reviews, law research materials, biographical information, and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Reserves

Reserve items are available at the front desk, on the main floor of the library. Reserve materials can include sample tests, solutions manuals, books, videos, study guides, periodicals, photocopied articles, computer software, and many other items.

Study Rooms

Library study rooms include the upper-level conference room and bonus room as well as the lower-level media room. Please see the front desk to check out a key. Library study rooms are restricted to Greensboro College students.

Technology

Library technology includes laptops and headphones.

Theses

The library's theses collection consist of theses from students of our Graduate program in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL).

VHS Collection

The VHS collection is located on the main floor, in the reference room. The collection contains feature, instructional, and documentary films. This collection is added to by faculty request only. Any VHS can by viewed in the library by any person.