Skip to Main Content

English, Communications & Media Studies: Articles

Finding Articles

Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are important resources when doing academic research. They're written by experts on very specific subjects, reviewed by other experts in the field, often revised, and only then published. The best way to find these articles are through databases. Databases are like search engines that search in only certain journals. If you want to see only peer-reviewed results, look for a box to check off before you hit search. If one is present, also check the full-text box. This ensures you will only be shown articles where you can access the full text of the article.

Recommended Databases

Researching Shakespeare?

Other Databases & Journal Finding Resources

Need Newspaper Articles?

Every resource has its time and place.

If you want to find current news information, scholarly articles are not the place to go. Look at newspaper articles! 

Some databases like ProQuest will include them in results. There are also databases that are mostly newspaper articles like...

If you're having trouble finding the full text of an article, Jones Library can make a request for the article to be emailed to you (for free!) through interlibrary loan (ILL).  Simply follow the following steps.

  1. Use the search box in the middle of the page (or go to https://greensboro.worldcat.org/) 
    and enter your search terms. If you already know the title of the artitcle, that is the most effective way to search. Select Libraries Worldwide from the menu beside the search box. 


     
  2.  Search just like you would Greensboro College's own catalog. 
     
  3. When you find the article you want, click on the title. Scroll down until you see a section called Worldcat. Click the blue Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button and fill out the form.



    You'll be notified when it arrives, which could be anywhere between two days and two weeks from when you make the request.