Databases

This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.

Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. Data-Axle makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.

Digital Library on American Slavery (DLAS) is a freely available and searchable database focused on bringing to light the names of enslaved individuals from court petitions, historical newspapers, and deed records held by Register of Deeds offices across North Carolina.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.

DT+ is a world-class repository of audio-visual and written resources for theatre and performance studies. They collaborate with over 50 leading theatre companies, educational organizations, arts collectives and other providers to bring you the highest quality resources for teaching and learning. With award-winning productions, e-learning videos, ready-made lesson plans, and insightful essays and study guides, DT+ has something for every teaching need!

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to more than 75,000 scholarly, peer-reviewed, open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.  All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.

This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.

This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.

This online, self-paced course will help you recognize opportunities that others overlook and determine whether starting a business is right for you.

Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.

Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for resumes, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.

Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Greensboro College is a liberal arts college located in Greensboro, North Carolina. The collection features theses and dissertations written by Greensboro College students.

Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And if Greensboro College has full-text, it'll link you to the full-text! Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

Ebooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 12444 titles!

Search the James Addison Jones Library Catalog.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. It will help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles.

The Just for Kids Streaming Collection gives children and their parents thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy.

Contact the library to request a film and a username and password to provide to your students in order to access the film. Access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on a wide range of topics.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

This database allows you to search the full-text of leading library and information science journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of 125+ core titles.

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.

The collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.

Caroline Meadows' HLT 4000 A Research Methods in Physical Activit

Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.

MedlinePlus le brinda información sobre enfermedades, condiciones y bienestar en un lenguaje fácil de leer.

Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.

Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. For doctors and medical students.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.

Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.

NAL Search is the USDA National Agricultural Library's main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. Resources include journal articles, manuscripts, PubAg (the USDA's public access repository), and digital collections featuring full-text historical documents and images.

A collection of (16th-21st century) art and biographical information from more than 1,000 women artists around the world.  Featured mediums include paintings, ceramics, metalwork, and more.  The online collection is hosted by the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA). 

Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.

NC Health Info tiene por objetivo ayudarlo a tomar decisiones informadas sobre atención médica. Aquí encontrar información confiable y fácil de comprender sobre diversos temas, incluidas afecciones, dónde encontrar opciones de tratamientos sin costo o de bajo costo y directorios de proveedores y servicios en Carolina del Norte.

NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy. Ebooks, audiobooks, videos, magazines, newspapers, journals, language-learning tools, and other online materials available through NC LIVE are designed for at-home use, and are available from any Internet connection via library websites, and through www.nclive.org. All North Carolinians may use NC LIVE resources through local public libraries, community colleges, or college and university libraries. Contact your local library for free access to NC LIVE resources.

Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

Complete set of employment tools for job seekers in North Carolina. Search jobs, create résumés, find education and training.

Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).

Explore more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources in this academic research database. Nexis Uni contains company and industry information for business research as well as codes, court cases and other legal information for legal research. Nexis Uni also provides access to an array of newspapers and full text journal articles for legal and business research.

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

The Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education's (ISKME) digital librarians have curated collections of Open Textbooks and full courses to help leverage OER in your classroom. Whether you are looking for more affordable options for your students, or dynamic content to inspire your own teaching and learning practice, this hub, organized by discipline and provider will help you discover the resources you need at your fingertips.

The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.

Open Education North Carolina Collection contains free, open textbooks that have been curated for the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina's 2 and 4-year colleges and universities. Faculty can adopt these OER to save their students money and lower the overall cost of higher education.

A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.  These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.

OpenStax is a part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corpation.  As an educational initiative, it's our mission to improve educational access and learning for everyone.  Through our partnerships with philanthropic foundations and our alliance with other educational resource companies, we're breaking down the most common barriers to learning.  Because we believe that everyone should and can have access to knowledge.

Search or browse Our State magazine, North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication celebrating the best of life in the state. Every issue from 1933 to 2017 is online in the North Carolina Digital Collections, and articles and advertisements are full text searchable.

Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

The UNC Cancer Network offers FREE continuing education credits (CME, CNE, ACPE, and ASRT) for healthcare professionals throughout North Carolina. Both live lectures and recorded lectures are available.

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab features a comprehensive guide on how to cite your sources in APA 7 for a variety of different sources.

Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.

Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring religious issues. The aim is to develop an extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship. While the initial orientation has been to seek material written primarily from a Christian perspective, the ultimate aim is to broaden the scope to include material on all the world's major religions.

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.

Access to 1 million statistics ready for use in PPT, XLS and PNG, comprehensive reports on over 3,000 industry topics and revenue forecasts from 2015 to 2020 on over 400 industries.

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

The largest academic streaming collection of its kind. With over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows, Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.

Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students worldwide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members.

TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives. Articles enable an active and vibrant professional dialogue about research- and theory-based practices as well as practice-oriented theorizing and research.

TESOL Quarterly (TQ), a refereed professional journal, fosters inquiry into English language teaching and learning by providing a forum for TESOL professionals to share their research findings and explore ideas and relationships in the field.

Scanned collection of The Echo, Greensboro College's yearbook. Brought to you by DigitalNC.

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.

62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.

Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Explore the human body in great detail, in 3D, and in full color. Before using this resource, please take note of the system requirements at https://support.visiblebody.com/hc/en-us/articles/360003147294-System-Requirements

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Full articles from The Washington Post (1996-current).