Service Alert
Articles from scholarly journals are excellent tools to build your research on a topic. Use a subject-specific database to find articles spanning across a wide variety of journals, or if you have a specific journal in mind, you can go directly to that journal and select articles from there. Take a look at our recommended databases and journals below!
History and literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
This database highlights female artists (b. 1790-1972) working in visual arts across the globe. Information is gathered from around the world through partnerships with art historians, museums, and colleges/universities. Sponsors and cultural events also provide contributions to the databases vast collection of resources. Content available on AWARE's virtual collection is updated on a weekly basis.
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Digital Library on American Slavery (DLAS) is a freely available and searchable database focused on bringing to light the names of enslaved individuals from court petitions, historical newspapers, and deed records held by Register of Deeds offices across North Carolina.
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
The Early American Imprints, Series I is based on American Bibliography: A Chronological Dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of American from the genesis of printing in 1639 to and including the year 1800 by Charles Evans, and enhanced by Roger Bristol's supplement to Evans' American Bibliography.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy. Ebooks, audiobooks, videos, magazines, newspapers, journals, language-learning tools, and other online materials available through NC LIVE are designed for at-home use, and are available from any Internet connection via library websites, and through www.nclive.org. All North Carolinians may use NC LIVE resources through local public libraries, community colleges, or college and university libraries. Contact your local library for free access to NC LIVE resources.
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
If you're having trouble finding the full text of an article, Jones Library can make a request for the article to be emailed to you (for free!) through interlibrary loan (ILL). Follow the steps in this guide to submit an ILL request.
