LibGuides: History Guide: Electronic Resources

Library Databases

Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
Formerly ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection. History and literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
DigitalNC This link opens in a new window
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Early American Imprints Series I: Evans Collection (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
The Early American Imprints, Series I is based on American Bibliography: A Chronological Dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of American from the genesis of printing in 1639 to and including the year 1800 by Charles Evans, and enhanced by Roger Bristol's supplement to Evans' American Bibliography.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
NCPedia This link opens in a new window
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window
OpenStax is a part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corpation. As an educational initiative, it's our mission to improve educational access and learning for everyone. Through our partnerships with philanthropic foundations and our alliance with other educational resource companies, we're breaking down the most common barriers to learning. Because we believe that everyone should and can have access to knowledge.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more. 1790 - present.
State Data Center This link opens in a new window
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.