Service Alert
Welcome to the Archival Collections Research Guide! The resources in this guide are here to help familiarize you with archival collections and how to use them. Links to recommended digital archival collections can be found under the "Finding Archival Collections" tab. If you have questions or would like to schedule a one-on-one research consultation click here or email me at library@greensboro.edu.
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
ArchiveGrid offers access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
Documenting African American life in the Jim Crow South
Research guide focused on the child development, child education, physical education for children, and children's literature resources housed in the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives at UNCG
The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historical materials online.
Primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
Online archival content from the North Carolina Collection
Digital collections focused on life in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region, from before the Civil War to the late twentieth century.
Digital collections of the UNC University Library, primarily focused on North Carolina, the American South, the experience of African Americans, the Civil War, and others.
Digital collections from UNCG, focused on university history, local and regional history, women's history, and the performing arts.
Digital collections with a focus on the history of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as the history of Southeast North Carolina and the Lower Cape Fear Region.
Links to major digitized archival collections in African American history, sorted by state
Over 1,675,000 digitized images, texts, and recordings from California libraries
A list of digital archives and digital collections related to women and gender from the University of Michigan.
Digital collections from Harvard Libraries, including Latin American Pamphlets, the Islamic Heritage Project, a collection documenting Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, and others.
The Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites, images, books, videos, audio recordings, and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs.
The Library of Congress is seeking to digitize many of it's unique American history holdings, and making them available through this website. Included are printed materials, manuscripts, sheet music, maps, photos and prints, motion pictures, and sound recordings.
Digital collections from the New York Public Library with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
QZAP was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
Located in Lawrence, Kansas, the mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information. The collection is compiled of Zines (personal, non-copy written, non-traditionally peer reviewed articles, journals, and art) that were specifically purchased, donated, traded, or created for the Solidarity! Collection. These works cover every topic from Globalization and the Industrial Prison Complex to first kisses.
List of online exhibits from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
