LibGuides: Education Research Guide: Electronic Resources

Library Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Explora This link opens in a new window
A search interface with articles, ebooks, and videos for K-12 schools and public libraries.
GC Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Greensboro College is a liberal arts college located in Greensboro, North Carolina. The collection features theses and dissertations written by Greensboro College students.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography (with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theatre, and other dramatic arts.
NCPedia This link opens in a new window
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
OER Commons Open Textbooks Hub This link opens in a new window
The Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education's (ISKME) digital librarians have curated collections of Open Textbooks and full courses to help leverage OER in your classroom. Whether you are looking for more affordable options for your students, or dynamic content to inspire your own teaching and learning practice, this hub, organized by discipline and provider will help you discover the resources you need at your fingertips.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more. 1790 - present.
State Data Center This link opens in a new window
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Electronic Resources

North Carolina Education Directory

This website provides information on the State Board of Education, the Department of Public Instruction, educational associations and commissions, and schools throughout the state.
North Carolina Department of Public Education

This website provides access to the NC Standard Course of Study, as well as information on testing, federal and state initiatives, and data and statistics.
U.S. Department of Education

This website provides numerous resources relating to federal education projects including the full text of many Department of Education

Digital Archival Collections/Primary Sources

Are you looking for resources related to special collections, archival, and/or primary source material? Take a look at our Digital Archival Collections guide!