Service Alert
Service Alert
When it comes to art research, there's more to consider than just books and articles. Take a look at some of the recommended image websites and video streaming services in this section of the art research guide!
You can freely download and use images of artwork that are open access from these museum collections.
Flip through the Book of Kells through Trinity College Dublin's great digital library.
Search through their collection of historic frames, prints, drawings, paintings, sculptures, and rare books. Some are in the public domain and free to use, so keep an eye out.
Videos, such as documentaries about an artist or their work, are helpful to examine when learning about a topic. Below are some free streaming services available for you to use through Jones Library.
Contact the library to request a film and a username and password to provide to your students in order to access the film. Access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on a wide range of topics.
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.
This database highlights female artists (b. 1790-1972) working in visual arts across the globe. Information is gathered from around the world through partnerships with art historians, museums, and colleges/universities. Sponsors and cultural events also provide contributions to the databases vast collection of resources. Content available on AWARE's virtual collection is updated on a weekly basis.
A collection of (16th-21st century) art and biographical information from more than 1,000 women artists around the world. Featured mediums include paintings, ceramics, metalwork, and more. The online collection is hosted by the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA).
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Ebooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
This list of resources provides general access to images of artwork. This is a good place to start your image search if you're not sure where to begin.
