Service Alert
Service Alert
It is especially important to critically evaluate the content you find on websites that you consult for research purposes, since depending on who wrote the content, what their purpose was in providing this content, and when they wrote the content, it might not be the best idea for you to use it in your research.
The websites and professional organizations listed below have already been identified as reliable resources for your research, so you can confidently use these as starting points to lead you to other credible resources on the Internet!
The websites recommended below provide a good mix of background information, artist biographies, and related historical and contextual information for your research.
Browse and search American artists’ personal letters, photos, and more.
Created by the art historian, Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, this website provides links to information about specific periods in art history with detailed lists of recommended resources.
A free online art dictionary with art concepts, definitions, images, and cross-references. Over the years, the content has been expanded to include biographies of artists, buying guides, and art tutorials.
The Getty Vocabularies are an excellent tool to help you brainstorm keywords for your research. As described by the website, "the Getty Vocabularies are structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, art conservation, and bibliographic materials." Use the terminology found in these vocabularies to help you perform searches or expand the scope of your research.
Perfect for those studying history of photography, this resource collects biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images.
Browse and search American artists’ personal letters, photos, and more.
A great interactive website for children to learn about how to read and create art. It also includes teacher resources.
This website was created by an art history professor and links to numerous sites of importance to art historical research.
This is a great resource to learn about modern art.
It includes artistic works produced during the period extending roughly from the 1860s to the 1970s, and denotes the style and philosophy of the art created during that era.
Search through this collection of over 200,000 artworks from every public art collection in the UK. Information about venues and artists are also available.
The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, conservation, and bibliographic materials.
Get up close and personal with Bosch's famous Garden of Earthly Delights. Click around the triptych to hear a narration describing the madness that's occurring in this work.
Visual art encyclopedia
Browse through the Arts section of MERLOT’s excellent collection of peer-recommended web-based teaching and learning resources. Narrow it down by areas like drawing and painting, ceramics, fibers, and more.
Educational resource from the NC Museum of Art that allows users to create concept maps between works of art. It was created with teachers and students in mind and includes several lesson plans.
Perfect for those studying history of photography, this resource collects biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images.
See the digitized sketchbooks of Richard Diebenkorn. They contain 1,045 drawings that span the artist's career and represent the range of styles and subjects he explored.
Explore street art from around the world with 360 views and audio commentary.
Kahn Academy - Once known as Smarthistory, the Kahn Academy has created a good overview of art throughout history with videos, podcasts, images, and broadly written articles in the following areas:
