Service Alert
This collection consist of around 63,000 circulating items that span across various fields of study. These materials are distributed across all four floors of the stacks and are accessible from the main floor of the library and the lower level of the GCC.
Our Reference Collection s situated in the Reference Room on the library's main floor. This collection houses about 2,400 print resources, including encyclopedias, indexes, statistical sources, critical reviews, law research materials, etc. Additionally, the library subscribes to electronic reference sources accessible both on and off-campus. Patrons seeking further information about this collection can visit the Reference Desk in the main lobby. The Reference Collection primarily serves for consultation rather than cover-to-cover reading, aiding in identifying specific pieces of information, answering reference questions, and locating resources for further reading.
Professors utilize our Course Reserves collections to ensure that all students have access to supplemental course materials throughout the semester or academic year. These materials are conveniently stored behind the Circulation Desk and are accessible for a limited period. Typically, items are loaned for 3 hours, and students are not permitted to take physical copies outside the library.
This Collection is located in our Reference Room and offers access to a vast array of circulating musical scores, compact discs, LPs, and phonograph recordings. .
The People Remember by
This book tells the journey of African descendants in America by connecting their history to the seven principles of Kwanzaa. It begins in Africa, where people were taken from their homes and families. They spoke different languages and had different customs. Yet they were bound and chained together and forced onto ships sailing into an unknown future. Ultimately, all these people had to learn one common language and create a culture that combined their memories of home with new traditions that enabled them to thrive in this new land. This is a story young readers can visit over and over again to deepen their understanding of African American history in relation to their own lives and to social justice movements. By turns powerful and revealing, this is a lyrical narrative that tells the story of survival, as well as the many moments of joy, celebration, and innovation of Black people in America--Description from Amazon.
The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC), located within the Reference Room, is home to nearly 4,000 resources tailored for teacher education faculty and students. This collection encompasses professional literature, juvenile books, activity books, curriculum guides, videos, kits, and North Carolina state-adopted textbooks.
The Holocaust in Historical Context by
With this volume, Steven T. Katz initiates the provocative argument that the Holocaust is a singular event in human history. Unlike any previous work on the subject, The Holocaust in Historical Context maintains that the Holocaust is the only example of true genocide--a systematic attempt to kill all the members of a group--in history. In a richly documented, subtly argued, and amazingly wide-ranging comparative historical and phenomenological analysis, Katz explores the philosophical and historiographical implications of the uniqueness of the Holocaust. After he establishes the nature of genocide, Katz examines other occasions of mass death to which the Holocaust is regularly compared from slavery in the ancient world to the medieval persecution of heretics, from the depopulation of the New World to the Armenian massacres during World War I, and from the Gulag to Cambodia. In the first of three volumes, Katz, after setting the groundwork for his analysis with four chapters dealing with essential methodological issues, begins his comparative case studies with slavery in the ancient Greek and Roman world, and continues with such subjects as medieval antisemitism, the European witch craze, the medieval wars of religion, the medieval persecution of homosexuals, and the French campaign against Huguenots. Throughout this investigation of pre-modern Jewish and non-Jewish history, Katz looks at the ways in which the Holocaust has precedents and parallels, and in what way it stands alone as a singular, highly distinctive historical event.
The Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection, aims to offer Greensboro College students a comprehensive assortment of publications on Holocaust history. Located on the top floor of the Library, this collection primarily comprises donated books from individuals who support Holocaust education.
This collection features scholarly works created by students from the Greensboro College TESOL program and is located in our Reference Room, serving as an important resource for research. However, materials are limited to in-library use only. In recent years, the library now provides digital copies through the GC Theses & Dissertations Collection.
The librarians select electronic resources including both databases and websites to make available to the Greensboro College community through the “E-Resources/Databases” section of the Library website. Thousands of periodicals are available in full text through NC-LIVE and other electronic databases available to the Greensboro College community. These databases are accessible off-campus via the Greensboro College Proxy Server. (Access requires a valid College email).
This collections is situated in the Reference Room area and contains approximately 800 books available for patrons to check out. Featuring a mixtures of fiction and non-fiction titles selected for leisure reading, this section aims to offer patrons a diverse range of enjoyable reading materials for entertainment purposes.
My Brother's Husband, Volume 1 by
"From one of Japan's most notable manga artists: a heartbreaking and redemptive tale of mourning and acceptance that compares and contrasts the contemporary nature of gay tolerance in the East and the West. Yaichi is a work-at-home suburban dad in contemporary Tokyo, married to wife Natsuki, father to young daughter Kana. Their lives are suddenly upended with the arrival at their doorstep of a hulking, affable Canadian named Mike Flanagan, who declares himself the widower of Yaichi's estranged gay twin, Ryoji. Mike is on a quest to explore Ryoji's past, and the family reluctantly but dutifully takes him in. What follows is an unprecedented, revelatory look at and journey into the largely still-closeted Japanese gay culture: how it's been affected by the West, and how the next generation has the chance to change the preconceptions of and prejudices against it"-- Provided by publisher.
This collection is located in the Learning Commons and feature approximately 400 materials.
This Collection is one of the library’s most popular areas of circulation. It is located in the Learning Commons and features nearly 2,000 scripts.
This collection comprises Lenovo laptops, Acer Chromebooks, and Macbooks for patrons to choose from. Laptops can be checked out for up to 30 days and are eligible for renewal. Patrons have the option to reserve devices in advance by completing the Rental Request Form, although walk-ins are also accepted. All check-outs are processed on a first-come, first-served basis.
Although Greensboro College offers physical copies of yearbooks located in our Reference room area of the library, we also provide access to a digital database known as Echo for patrons to explore.
