Service Alert
Welcome to James Addison Jones Library's student worker guide! This LibGuide will serve as your gateway into daily library operations, understanding duties, and securing a position as a student worker. As a member of our team, you will have the opportunity to explore behind-the-scenes workings of the library, from learning shelving techniques to mastering the circulation desk or showing your creativity through our book displays. This guide will have all the information you need to excel and grow in your position! Are you ready to join our team? Let's begin!
Located on the northeast side of campus, adjacent to Market Street, the James Addison Jones Library supports teaching and learning by providing access to resources that complement courses and programs offered at Greensboro College. The library provides access to tens of thousands of books, nearly 200,000 ebooks, many DVDs, audiobooks, games, and musical scores, as well a broad range of scholarly content including articles from a wide selection of journals.
The Library is also home to 23 computer workstations as well as wireless internet that is available throughout the library building. Please note that access to the library, library facilities, and technology is restricted to Greensboro College faculty, staff, students, and invited guests. The library also hosts a number of fun social events throughout the year. Past examples include game nights, knitting lessons, craft projects, and a Halloween costume contest.
The Library provides instruction in the use of learning and information resources. Library or research instruction sessions are suited to fit your needs. Depending upon the instructional needs of a class, the library offers handouts, research guides, as well as assignment specific resources. Classroom instruction also includes how to access and use remote information and subscription databases available through the library web site.
The James Addison Jones Library supports the academic and social community of Greensboro College and its mission through a provision of collections, services, and facilities that reflect the College’s curriculum, promote information literacy and learning amongst a diverse student body, and support faculty teaching, research, and scholarship.
With just one click, you can peek into the diverse collections and resources the library offers its patrons. This virtual tour provides an interactive opportunity to discover hidden gems and familiarize yourself with our extensive collections and resources.
