LibGuides: TESOL Research Guide: Electronic Resources

Library Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Explora This link opens in a new window
A search interface with articles, ebooks, and videos for K-12 schools and public libraries.
GC Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Greensboro College is a liberal arts college located in Greensboro, North Carolina. The collection features theses and dissertations written by Greensboro College students.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography (with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theatre, and other dramatic arts.
NCPedia This link opens in a new window
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
OER Commons Open Textbooks Hub This link opens in a new window
The Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education's (ISKME) digital librarians have curated collections of Open Textbooks and full courses to help leverage OER in your classroom. Whether you are looking for more affordable options for your students, or dynamic content to inspire your own teaching and learning practice, this hub, organized by discipline and provider will help you discover the resources you need at your fingertips.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more. 1790 - present.
State Data Center This link opens in a new window
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching This link opens in a new window
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students worldwide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members.
The Encyclopedia is arranged thematically and entries are ordered A-Z within each of these themes. Fourteen key topic areas are covered:

Approaches & Methods in English for Speakers of Other Languages
Assessment and Evaluation
Current Trends and Future Directions in English Language Teaching (online only)
Non-Native English-speaking Teachers (NNESTs)
Organizational & Administrative Issues
Sociocultural Aspects of English Language Teaching
Teacher Training & Professional Development
Teaching & Technology
Teaching English as an International Language
Teaching Grammar
Teaching Listening
Teaching Reading
Teaching Speaking & Pronunciation
Teaching Vocabulary
Teaching Writing
Each entry is organized into three sections: “Framing the Issue,” “Making the Case,” and “Pedagogical Implications,” in which the Author presents proven applications and recommendations that may be immediately employed.

Unparalleled in scope, The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching is an indispensable professional resource for all ELT/ESL practitioners everywhere.
TESOL Journal This link opens in a new window
TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives. Articles enable an active and vibrant professional dialogue about research- and theory-based practices as well as practice-oriented theorizing and research.
TESOL Quarterly This link opens in a new window
TESOL Quarterly (TQ), a refereed professional journal, fosters inquiry into English language teaching and learning by providing a forum for TESOL professionals to share their research findings and explore ideas and relationships in the field.
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.