It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide was created to help with your TESOL research by providing a collection of sources related to education.
You can use these sources to make your research easier, and if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me!
Below is a list of resources that are great starting places for TESOL research. These can be used both on- and off-campus! If you have trouble accessing them, take a look at the Articles tab or contact me.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information including journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, and more. Many resources are full-text and peer reviewed. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives. Articles enable an active and vibrant professional dialogue about research- and theory-based practices as well as practice-oriented theorizing and research.
TESOL Quarterly (TQ), a refereed professional journal, fosters inquiry into English language teaching and learning by providing a forum for TESOL professionals to share their research findings and explore ideas and relationships in the field. TQ's readership includes ESOL teacher educators, teacher learners, researchers, applied linguists, and ESOL teachers.
Now updated with the Arts & Sciences VII Collection!!! JSTOR offers a high-quality, multi-subject archive to support scholarship and teaching. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles.
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students worldwide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members.
The Encyclopedia is arranged thematically and entries are ordered A-Z within each of these themes. Fourteen key topic areas are covered:
Approaches & Methods in English for Speakers of Other Languages
Assessment and Evaluation
Current Trends and Future Directions in English Language Teaching (online only)
Non-Native English-speaking Teachers (NNESTs)
Organizational & Administrative Issues
Sociocultural Aspects of English Language Teaching
Teacher Training & Professional Development
Teaching & Technology
Teaching English as an International Language
Teaching Speaking & Pronunciation
Each entry is organized into three sections: “Framing the Issue,” “Making the Case,” and “Pedagogical Implications,” in which the Author presents proven applications and recommendations that may be immediately employed.
Unparalleled in scope, The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching is an indispensable professional resource for all ELT/ESL practitioners everywhere.