Service Alert
Service Alert
There are several archival collection available for your use. Many archival collections these days are digitized, meaning they are available online, to some extent, while others you must physically go to the archive to see.
The resources listed on this page are specifically for digital archival collections that can get you started on your research. Check out the resources on this page to help you discover different archival collections that might align with your research.
This is a good resources for getting building information about locations in North Carolina.
This is a project with the NC Digital Heritage Center. It's a statewide digitization project and digital publishing program that tries to publish and digitize historical NC materials online.
This database includes access to slave deeds, North Carolina slave notices, and race and slavery petitions.
This database contains newspapers from across North Carolina ranging from the years 1751-1999.
This website includes access to North Carolina government records, maps, newspapers, oral histories, and private records.
This website contains valuable census records. Please note that due to confidentiality restrictions, certain public records may not be open to the public under certain circumstances.
This is the best place to find historical United States government documents created or received by the three branches of United States government.
This is a particularly valuable resource for finding archived web content. A wealth of selected web content is curated and available to the public at this site.
This database contains primary sources that include local and family histories dating back as early as the 1700s.
Create a free account to start building your own family tree and build upon it using the records available in the database.
After registering with the website, you'll be able to join this completely volunteer run website dedicated to genealogical research. Take a look at the photos, maps, transcripts, and other historical documents available.
This is a good resource for finding archival collections near you.
Use the "Browse by Topic" feature to look through archival collections in various subject areas across the United States.
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes letters, diary entries, and biographies about the women who wrote them.
