Service Alert
You've Got This: A Student's Guide to Well-Being at University and Beyond [2022] by
You can take control of your well-being and mental health. Student life can be overwhelming, with so many issues to deal with including living away from home, workload, deadlines and exams, family pressures and challenging relationships. It is not surprising that you might struggle to cope sometimes. But there are simple and effective ways that you can take ownership of your mental health, meaning you stay stress free, enjoy your university experience and achieve academic success. This book guides you through your student journey from preparing to go to college or university, managing the academic pressures, finding a job, and everything in-between. Relevant scenarios are presented, linked to a series of topics that explore the challenges you might experience, along with self-enquiry reflections which help you to apply the theory to your own experience and key take-aways. The approaches and strategies outlined will help you improve your academic performance, enhance your social skills, learn to manage your emotions, reduce your anxieties, and help you to think in more empowering ways. Combining practical psychological and spiritual guidance, You've Got This is written in a down to earth, jargon-free way, helping you, the reader take responsibility over the most important thing of all - the way you think. Examples of topics covered: I am homesick and feel lonely I feel like I don't fit in I feel anxious about attending lectures I am scared to admit I am struggling at university I feel anxious about submitting my work I am worried if I don't get good grades, I won't get a good job I don't like attending lectures Why do I struggle with my mental health? I think I may have an eating disorder With over 100 topics providing solutions to common challenges faced by the university student, this book is a preventative tool, helping the student stay emotionally balanced allowing academic success. "...This book provides the kind of advice academic staff would want to offer if they could and gives boundless reassurance to parents who might be 'too' close to be able to help at the time. Perhaps most importantly, it offers students an immediate sense of not being alone, not being the only person to experience such fears, anxieties and stresses and instils the capacity to deal with the in ways that will, hopefully, provide them with learning for life." Professor Jonathan Parker, Bournemouth University
Promoting Belonging, Growth Mindset, and Resilience to Foster Student Success [2020] by
In recent years, growth mindset, resilience, and belonging have become popular topics for research and practice among college educators. The authors of this new volume aim to deepen the conversation around these noncognitive factors that significantly impact student success. Along with offering support for the development of learning mindsets, this book contains strategies for faculty and staff to consider as they create initiatives, programs, and assessments for use in and outside the classroom. Informative features include: Learning Mindset Stories, highlighting how students, faculty, and staff members dealt with issues related to belonging, growth mindset, and resilience; Campus Conversations, providing questions for generating discussion among faculty, staff, and students on what institutions can do to incorporate learning mindsets with an eye toward student success; and Next Steps, serving as a roadmap for implementing institutional change.
Student Engagement Techniques: A Handbook for College Faculty [2020] by
Practical Strategies and Winning Techniques to Engage and Enhance Student Learning The revised and updated second edition of Student Engagement Techniques is a much-needed guide to engaging today's information-overloaded students. The book is a comprehensive resource that offers college teachers a dynamic model for engaging students and includes over one hundred tips, strategies, and techniques that have been proven to help teachers across all disciplines motivate and connect with their students. This edition will provide a deeper understanding of what student engagement is, demonstrate new strategies for engaging students, uncover implementation strategies for engaging students in online learning environments, and provide new examples on how to implement these techniques into STEM fields. "Student Engagement Techniques is among a handful of books--several of which are in this series!--designed specifically to help instructors, regardless of experience, create the conditions that make meaningful, engaged learning not just possible but highly probable." --Michael Palmer, Ph.D., Director, Center for Teaching Excellence, Professor, General Faculty, University of Virginia "This practical guide to motivating and engaging students reads like a quite enjoyable series of conversations held over coffee with skilled colleagues. It has been met with delight from every faculty member and graduate instructor that we've shared the book with!" --Megan L. Mittelstadt, Ph.D., Director, Center for Teaching and Learning, The University of Georgia "Student Engagement Techniques belongs in the hands of 21st century instructors and faculty developers alike. Its research-based, specific, yet broadly applicable strategies can increase student engagement in face-to-face and online courses in any discipline." --Jeanine A. Irons, Ph.D., Faculty Developer for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence, Syracuse University "This book is an essential resource for faculty seeking to better engage with their students. Anyone seeking a clear, research-based, and actionable guide needs a copy of Student Engagement Techniques on their shelf!" --Michael S. Harris, Ed.D., Associate Professor of Higher Education, Director, Center for Teaching Excellence, Southern Methodist University
Improving Classroom Engagement and International Development Programs: International Perspectives on Humanizing Higher Education [2020] by
Educational pedagogy refers to student-centered learning that provides meaningful engagement to directly enhance critical thinking and creativity. This edited collection equips readers to understand and implement impactful creative teaching and learning methods designed to act as a catalyst to improve the learning experiences of students. Diving into various case studies and interventions that have put innovative techniques into action, this book analyses how teaching-learning methods and student engagement can be significantly improved. The authors demonstrate that education does not only mean teaching, learning and research, but should also consider the emotional connection, commitment, and dialogical process between the faculty and students. Ultimately, the volume concludes that it is the responsibility of faculty members to create an environment that provides students with tools that are socially engaging, interactive and meaningful. Readers will come away from this book with the critical knowledge and pathway to action required to make this happen.
How College Students Succeed: Making Meaning Across Disciplinary Perspectives [2022] by
Receiving a college education has perhaps never been more important than it is today. While its personal, societal, and overall economic benefits are well documented, too many college students fail to complete their postsecondary education. As colleges and universities are investing substantial resources into efforts to counter these attrition rates and increase retention, they are mostly unaware of the robust literature on student success that is often bounded in disciplinary silos. The purpose of this book is to bring together in a single volume the extensive knowledge on college student success. It includes seven chapters from authors who each synthesize the literature from their own field of study, or perspective. Each describes the theories, models, and concepts they use; summarizes the key findings from their research; and provides implications for practice, policy, and/or research. The disciplinary chapters offer perspectives from higher education, public policy, behavioral economics, social psychology, STEM, sociology, and critical and post-structural theory.
Learning With Others: Collaboration as a Pathway to College Student Success [2022] by
How can colleges and universities engage students in ways that prepare them to solve problems in our rapidly changing world?Most American colleges and universities assimilate students into highly competitive undergraduate experiences. By placing achievement for personal and material gain as the bedrock of a college education, these institutions fail to educate students to become collaborative learners: people who are committed and prepared to join with others in developing promising solutions to problems that they share with others. Drawing on a three-year study of student persistence and learning at Minority-Serving Institutions, Clifton Conrad and Todd Lundberg argue that student success in college should be redefined by focusing on the importance of collaborative learning over individual achievement. Engaging students in shared, real-world problem-solving, Conrad and Lundberg assert, will encourage them to embrace interdependence and to value and draw on diverse perspectives. Learning with Others presents a set of core practices to empower students to enter, nourish, and sustain collaborative learning and outlines how to blend the roles and responsibilities of faculty, staff, and students; how to adopt best practices for receiving and giving feedback on problem-solving; and how to anchor a curriculum in shared problem-solving.Bringing together lessons learned from more than 300 interviews, along with notes from 14 campus visits, 3 national convenings, and examples from across our nation's colleges and universities, Conrad and Lundberg explore ways in which successful antiracist networks of problem-solvers are learning to contribute to the flourishing of their communities on campus and far beyond. Outlining strategies for identifying and dismantling barriers to participation, Learning with Others will pique interest among faculty, students, and administrators in higher education and a wide range of external stakeholders—from families and communities to policymakers and funders.
Handbook of Strategies and Strategic Processing [2020] by
Handbook of Strategic Processing provides a state-of-the-art synthesis of conceptual, measurement, and analytical issues regarding learning strategies and strategic processing. Contributions by educational psychology experts present the clearest yet definition of this essential and quickly evolving component of metacognition and achievement across academic domains. This volume addresses the most current research and theory on the nature of strategies and performance, mechanisms for unearthing individuals' strategic behaviors, and both long-established and emerging techniques for data analysis and interpretation.
Relationship-Rich Education: How Human Connections Drive Success in College [2020] by
A mentor, advisor, or even a friend? Making connections in college makes all the difference. What single factor makes for an excellent college education? As it turns out, it's pretty simple: human relationships. Decades of research demonstrate the transformative potential and the lasting legacies of a relationship-rich college experience. Critics suggest that to build connections with peers, faculty, staff, and other mentors is expensive and only an option at elite institutions where instructors have the luxury of time with students. But in this revelatory book brimming with the voices of students, faculty, and staff from across the country, Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert argue that relationship-rich environments can and should exist for all students at all types of institutions. In Relationship-Rich Education, Felten and Lambert demonstrate that for relationships to be central in undergraduate education, colleges and universities do not require immense resources, privileged students, or specially qualified faculty and staff. All students learn best in an environment characterized by high expectation and high support, and all faculty and staff can learn to teach and work in ways that enable relationship-based education. Emphasizing the centrality of the classroom experience to fostering quality relationships, Felten and Lambert focus on students' influence in shaping the learning environment for their peers, as well as the key difference a single, well-timed conversation can make in a student's life. They also stress that relationship-rich education is particularly important for first-generation college students, who bring significant capacities to college but often face long-standing inequities and barriers to attaining their educational aspirations. Drawing on nearly 400 interviews with students, faculty, and staff at 29 higher education institutions across the country, Relationship-Rich Educationprovides readers with practical advice on how they can develop and sustain powerful relationship-based learning in their own contexts. Ultimately, the book is an invitation--and a challenge--for faculty, administrators, and student life staff to move relationships from the periphery to the center of undergraduate education.
The Distance Learning Playbook for College & University Instruction: Teaching for Engagement & Impact in Any Setting [2020] by
First, let's commend ourselves: how in the midst of a pandemic we faculty stepped up at record speed to teach in such a foreign learning environment. Try we did, adapt we did, and learn we did. But to be clear, and we already recognize this, this past spring was less about distance learning and more about crisis teaching. This time around we have the opportunity to be much more purposeful and intentional, and that's where The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction will prove absolutely indispensable. Much more than a collection of cool tools and apps, The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction mobilizes decades of Visible Learning® research to reveal those evidence-based strategies that work best in an online environment. Supplemented by video footage and opportunities to self-assess and reflect, the book addresses every dynamic that must be in place for students to learn, even at a distance: Faculty-student relationships from a distance Teacher credibility from a distance Teacher clarity from a distance Engaging tasks from a distance Planning learning experiences from a distance Feedback, assessment, and grading from a distance Keeping the focus on learning, from a distance or otherwise What does our post-COVID future hold? "We suspect," Fisher, Frey, Almarode, and Hattie write, "it will include increased amounts of distance learning. In the meantime, let's seize on what we have learned to improve post-secondary education in any format, whether face-to-face or from a distance." "We are all still active faculty members, committed to teaching, scholarship, and service. The unexpected transition to remote learning doesn't mean we no longer know how to teach. We can still impact the lives of our students and know that we made a difference. The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction will show you how." ~Douglas Fisher, Nancy Frey, John Almarode, and John Hattie
Keeping Us Engaged: Student Perspectives (and Research-Based Strategies) on What Works and Why [2021] by
This book offers faculty practical strategies to engage students that are research-grounded and endorsed by students themselves. Through student stories, a signature feature of this book, readers will discover why professor actions result in changed attitudes, stronger connections to others and the course material, and increased learning.Structured to cover the key moments and opportunities to increase student engagement, Christine Harrington covers the all-important first day of class where first impressions can determine students'' attitudes for the duration of the course, through to insights for rethinking assignments and enlivening teaching strategies, to ways of providing feedback that build students'' confidence and spur them to greater immersion in their studies, providing the underlying rationale for the strategies she presents. The student narratives not only validate these practices, offering their perspectives as learners, but constitute a trove of ideas and practices that readers will be inspired to adapt for their particular needs.Conscious of the changing demographics of today''s undergraduate and graduate students - racially more diverse, older, and many employed - Harrington highlights the need to engage all students and shares numerous strategies on how to do so. While many of the ideas presented were used by faculty teaching face to face classes, a number were developed by faculty teaching online, and the majority can be adapted to virtually any teaching environment. Based on student-centered active learning principles, structured to allow readers to quickly identify practices that they may need in particular instances or to infuse in a course as a whole, and presented without jargon, this book is a springboard for all faculty looking for ideas that will engage their students at any level and in any course. to adapt for their particular needs.Conscious of the changing demographics of today''s undergraduate and graduate students - racially more diverse, older, and many employed - Harrington highlights the need to engage all students and shares numerous strategies on how to do so. While many of the ideas presented were used by faculty teaching face to face classes, a number were developed by faculty teaching online, and the majority can be adapted to virtually any teaching environment. Based on student-centered active learning principles, structured to allow readers to quickly identify practices that they may need in particular instances or to infuse in a course as a whole, and presented without jargon, this book is a springboard for all faculty looking for ideas that will engage their students at any level and in any course.to adapt for their particular needs.Conscious of the changing demographics of today''s undergraduate and graduate students - racially more diverse, older, and many employed - Harrington highlights the need to engage all students and shares numerous strategies on how to do so. While many of the ideas presented were used by faculty teaching face to face classes, a number were developed by faculty teaching online, and the majority can be adapted to virtually any teaching environment. Based on student-centered active learning principles, structured to allow readers to quickly identify practices that they may need in particular instances or to infuse in a course as a whole, and presented without jargon, this book is a springboard for all faculty looking for ideas that will engage their students at any level and in any course.to adapt for their particular needs.Conscious of the changing demographics of today''s undergraduate and graduate students - racially more diverse, older, and many employed - Harrington highlights the need to engage all students and shares numerous strategies on how to do so. While many of the ideas presented were used by faculty teaching face to face classes, a number were developed by faculty teaching online, and the majority can be adapted to virtually any teaching environment. Based on student-centered active learning principles, structured to allow readers to quickly identify practices that they may need in particular instances or to infuse in a course as a whole, and presented without jargon, this book is a springboard for all faculty looking for ideas that will engage their students at any level and in any course.ghlights the need to engage all students and shares numerous strategies on how to do so. While many of the ideas presented were used by faculty teaching face to face classes, a number were developed by faculty teaching online, and the majority can be adapted to virtually any teaching environment. Based on student-centered active learning principles, structured to allow readers to quickly identify practices that they may need in particular instances or to infuse in a course as a whole, and presented without jargon, this book is a springboard for all faculty looking for ideas that will engage their students at any level and in any course.
The Transfer Experience: A Handbook for Creating a More Equitable and Successful Postsecondary System [2021] by
Co-published with At last there is a handbook that everyone in higher education can use to help increase transfer student success. This comprehensive resource has been brought together to meet the need for a truly holistic approach to the transfer experience. The book brings together research, theory, practical applications, programmatic illustrations, case studies, encouragement, and inspiration, and is supplemented by an online compendium for continual updates of resources, case studies, and new developments in the world of transfer.Based on a totally different way of thinking about, understanding, and acting to increase transfer student success, The Transfer Experience goes far beyond the traditional, limited view of transfer as a technical process simply about articulating credits, a stage of student development, or a novel enrollment management strategy. Rather, the book introduces a stimulating array of new perspectives, resources, options, models, and recommendations for addressing the many needs of this huge cohort - making the academic, civic, and social justice cases for improving transfer at both transfer-sending and transfer-receiving institutions.
Empowering Novice Academics for Student Success: Wearing Different Hats [2021] by
This book is essential for academics that enter the field of higher education and training, as it focuses on preparing teachers and trainers to respond appropriately to student success challenges. Student success is a burning issue, both globally and locally. While student achievement is determined by a combination of factors, teachers and their teaching practices do matter. Higher education teachers are expected to fulfil different roles at different times, such as planning for curriculum implementation, mentorship and coaching, facilitating learning, resource development, and student assessment. Against this background the primary purpose of Empowering novice academics for student success: Wearing different hats is building the capacity of novice teachers and trainers to play an influential role in increasing student success throughout.
The Higher Education Personal Tutor's and Advisor's Companion: Translating Theory Into Practice to Improve Student Success [2022] by
Professional learning and development for higher education personal tutors and academic advisors. With contributions from 50 practitioners from across the sector, this text examines the key themes, theories and concepts relevant to personal tutors and academic advisors and translates these into real-world practice. Case study narratives from a range of settings demonstrate how student learning and outcomes can be improved, and related critical thinking activities encourage reflection on how these learnings can be applied in specific contexts. The book provides invaluable insights and support for all personal tutors and academic advisors, enabling practitioners to learn from each other, develop innovative ideas, and feel part of a community of learning. Please also see Effective Personal Tutoring in Higher Education for the themes on which the case studies in this collection are based.
Mind, Motivation, and Meaningful Learning: Strategies for Teaching Adult Learners [2021] by
Adults are attending college in record numbers every year. These students, many with families and careers, may have been away from an academic environment for many years and have unique needs in developing lifelong learning skills. Academic librarians have an important role as change agents in this dynamic learning environment through information literacy instruction, workshops, and individual consultations.Mind, Motivation, and Meaningful Learning: Strategies for Teaching Adult Learners provides a blueprint that academic librarians can apply to their instructional design that facilitates a change in students' motivation and learning strategies. It provides the tools necessary to teach learners to identify, evaluate, and apply appropriate cognitive, learning, and motivation strategies based on course content and a deeper understanding of the metacognitive component of meaningful learning. Five chapters explore the theories behind adult learning, culminating in a seven-unit curriculum scalable to a variety of learning domains complete with lesson plans, activities, assessments of the learning goals, and student reflections. Mind, Motivation, and Meaningful Learning can help you identify the components of academic learning that contribute to high achievement; help students learn and practice effective learning and study strategies that lead to improved self-efficacy, self-regulation, and knowledge transfer; and improve instructional design for student, instructor, and academic teaching librarian success.
Picture a Professor: Interrupting Biases About Faculty and Increasing Student Learning [2022] by
“Does a service to all who would prefer a different path, offering realistic strategies to engage students in undermining scholarly stereotypes.”—Science Picture a Professor is a collection of evidence-based insights and intersectional teaching strategies crafted by and for college instructors. It aims to inspire transformative student learning while challenging stereotypes about what a professor looks like. Representing a variety of scholarly disciplines, the volume's contributing authors offer practical advice for effectively navigating student preconceptions about embodied identity and academic expertise. Each contributor recognizes the pervasiveness of racialized, gendered, and other biases about professors and recommends specific ways to respond to and interrupt such preconceptions—helping students, teachers, and others reenvision what we think of when we picture a professor. Educators at every stage of their career will find affirming acknowledgment of the ways systemic inequities affect college teaching conditions, as well as actionable advice about facilitating student learning with innovative course design, classroom activities, assessment techniques, and more.
Developing and Supporting Multiculturalism and Leadership Development: International Perspectives on Humanizing Higher Education [2020] by
Humanizing education, which successfully instils values that support inclusivity and equality, should be built around cultural context and experiences derived from the work of researchers and academics. This book reviews work conducted by academics globally to uncover the strategies and tools designed to facilitate better learning and integration of inclusivity. The authors make the engaging argument that social justice education and inclusion should be an inherent part of the curriculum. Case studies from Africa to the USA and UK are showcased to demonstrate effective examples, from which readers benefit from a real-life model of a classroom environment supporting multi-culturalism. Ultimately, the book illustrates the importance of appropriate curriculum development involving all stakeholders and the integration of multicultural educational topics.
Post-Pandemic Pedagogy: A Paradigm Shift [2021] by
Post-Pandemic Pedagogy: A Paradigm Shift discusses how the COVID-19 pandemic radically altered teaching and learning for faculty and students alike. The increased prevalence of video-conferencing software for conducting classes fundamentally changed the way in which we teach and seemingly upended many best practices for good pedagogy in the college classroom. Whether it was the reflection over surveillance software, or the increased mental health demands of the pandemic on teachers and students, or the completely reshaped ways in which classes and co-curricular experiences were delivered, the pandemic year represented an opportunity for one of the largest shifts in our understanding of good pedagogy unlike any experienced in the modern era. This edited collection explores what we thought we knew about a variety of teaching ideas, how the pandemic changed our approach to them, and proposes ways in which some of the adjustments made to accommodate the pandemic will remain for years to come. Scholars of communication, pedagogy, and education will find this book particularly interesting.
