Service Alert
Service Alert
Get inspiration for costume, set, and props from art pieces from museums across the world. Google Art Project allows you to get high definition looks at priceless pieces!
Virtual museum of European painting and sculpture from the 12th to the mid-19th centuries. Includes more than 20,000 images.
Created and maintained by the Library of Congress and the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNECSO) with help from cultural institutions around the world, this digital library has thousands of images of works of art and anthropological items from cultures across the globe. Search or browse through timelines and maps.
This searchable database contains almost 50,000 art and archaeological images from around the world and was created and is maintained by California State University. This is useful for searching by subject matter or theme.
Search and browse through thousands of digitized drawings and photographs of costumes and fashion from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
The Met has a great collection of costumes (many theatrical!) that you can search for and browse through online.
You can freely download and use images of artwork that are open access from these museum collections.
The DPLA is a combined effort to provide digital access to materials of thousands of libraries, museums, and archives across the country. You can browse by map or timeline. When searching you can limit results by contributing institution, location, format, date, and more.
Europeana is the combined effort to provide digital access to cultural materials from thousands of museums, libraries, and archives across Europe. You can search by creator, title, date, place, and more. They also have excellent exhibitions to browse, found at the bottom left of the page.
An excellent resource if you're interested in the Lowcountry of South Carolina and historically interconnected sites in the Atlantic world.
