Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Policy

Greensboro College James Addison Jones Library Collection Development Plan, adopted 7 November 2014

a. James Addison Jones Library provides a quality environment for reading, viewing, and listening to materials that support the College curriculum and independent learning. A collection of more than 100,000 books, sound and video recordings, scores, and curriculum materials supports research and study at the College.

b. The collection also includes access to more than 60,000 print and electronic periodicals and newspapers, full text access to more than 55,000 electronic books, and many other print, multimedia, and electronic resources. Collections include the Levy-Loewenstein Holocaust Collection, with more than 1000 circulating publications on Holocaust history; and the Curriculum Materials Center, which houses resources for teacher education faculty and students.

c. Jones Library is open 85.5 hours per week during the academic year with extended hours during final exam periods. Staff members are happy to provide reference service, individual and small group instruction, interlibrary loan service, and assistance with other information needs. Greensboro College participates in NC LIVE, a statewide initiative providing access to electronic resources. Jones Library participates in resource sharing TALA, the Triad Area Library Association and interlibrary loan.

a. The James Addison Jones Library supports the academic and social community of Greensboro College and its mission through a provision of collections, services, and facilities that reflect the College's curriculum, promote information literacy and learning amongst a diverse student body, and support faculty teaching, research, and scholarship.

a. Overview of the Library Collection

i. The James Addison Jones Library collection supports the mission of Greensboro College and reflects the dual traditions of liberal arts and the Judeo-Christian faith. The collections and resources of the Library support and enhance the curriculum of Greensboro College, including the core requirements, academic majors, and the programs.

b. Roles and Responsibilities

i. Director of the Library

1. The Director of the Library oversees all library operations and administers the library’s annual operating budget. Their duties also include managing and supervising library professional and support staff, overseeing library space policy and use of library space. The Director of the Library is responsible for consulting with college faculty and staff to determine library resources and developing programs and policies in support the college’s academic programs overall.

ii. Public Services Librarian

1. The Public Services Librarian has the primary responsibility of overseeing the public service desks, as well as hiring, training, and managing students working in the library. Their duties include the oversight of interlibrary loan activities and providing library instruction to classes and groups as needed.

iii. Collections Services Librarian

1. The Collections Services Librarian manages the processing and deaccessioning of library materials. Their duties include soliciting and facilitating orders from faculty and staff, acknowledging gifts, and assessing the collection for weaknesses and potential withdrawals. They are also responsible for overseeing the cataloging of new acquisitions in WMS and the preparation of materials for library circulation.

iv. Other Library Staff Members

1. All Library staff members provide reference service and are in a position to become aware of student and faculty needs. All Library staff members participate in the collection development process by bringing gaps in the collection or materials that should be acquired or weeded to the attention of Director of the Library.

v. Faculty Members

1. Faculty input is essential to maintaining a collection that supports and enhances the curriculum of Greensboro College. All faculty are strongly encouraged to forward all suggested material they wish to have added to the collection to the Library Director for consideration. Faculty also participate in weeding, periodicals assessment, collection assessment, and the evaluation and selection of electronic resources.

vi. Students and staff members

1. Students and staff members are encouraged to suggest Library purchases. The Jones Library take student suggestions very seriously and, when suggestions are pertinent to college curriculum, the Director may choose to purchase suggested materials.

 

c. Budget

i. The budget of the Jones Library includes funding for electronic resources, serials, standing orders, and monographs, as well as binding services. The budget must also cover general library supplies such as paper for student printing. The Library Director administers the annual budget and allocates funds for all library expenditures.

d. Withdrawal of Materials

i. Withdrawal of library materials is consistent with the goals as listed in the library mission statement.

ii. Obvious candidates for withdrawal from the library collection include:

1. Additional copies when extra copies aren’t warranted.

2. Superseded editions not held for academic or historic reasons.

3. Titles not circulated for an extended period of time.

4. Material containing outdated information.

5. Material damaged beyond repair.

6. Items missing for an extended period of time.

7. Curriculum Materials Center textbooks more than ten years old.

iii. Decisions for withdrawal of materials will be made based on the judgment of Jones Library’s Librarians and by Faculty request.