Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About: Library Policies

Policies of the James Addison Jones Library

Gifts of books, manuscripts and similar materials are valued additions to the James Addison Jones Library. Gifts may be added to the Libraries' general collection, or to the holdings of the special collections. If some of the gifts are duplicates of works already in the collection or outside the scope of the our collections, they may be offered to another library, offered to Better World Books, or discarded.

Materials that fall outside of our collecting scope generally include:

  • Materials in poor physical condition
  • Outdated textbooks, software books, and testing manuals
  • Mass market paperbacks
  • Popular magazines
  • Individual journal issues
  • Non-book formats

Exceptions may also be made for special collections materials, or in cases where a donation will fill gaps in our journal holdings, or may augment demand on specific resources.

Although we acknowledge gifts in a form that substantiates deductions, appraisals of gifts or collections for tax and other purposes must be done by an independent appraiser before the items are received at the Library. The Tax Reform Act of 1984 (see below) established new regulations that affect cumulative gifts valued at more than $5000 in a single tax year.

Those wishing to make arrangements to donate materials should contact the Director of the Library, Will Ritter at 336-272-7201 x5734 or [email protected] If you have non-book items that you feel are significant to Greensboro College history please contact Elena Henry, Archives Manager for the Brock Museum at 336-272-7102 x5228 or [email protected]

See the Collection Development Policy's section on Donations.