Service Alert
Use reference materials, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and timelines to gather background information about a topic.
These are a few highlighted reference texts that Jones Library has available. You can search the library catalog by entering search terms in the box below to discover even more reference resources that Greensboro College has to offer.
Jones Library has this reference text available in print and eBook formats.
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
A collection of (16th-21st century) art and biographical information from more than 1,000 women artists around the world. Featured mediums include paintings, ceramics, metalwork, and more. The online collection is hosted by the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA).
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Created and maintained by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, their collection is represented through detailed timelines, maps, thematic essays, and the individual works themselves. This is a great resource to help you become familiar with the type of art produced in a specific time period or in a specific geographical location. It includes essays written by experts as well as related resources to help you along in your .
